Tyler Riggs Dramatic Last Lap Pass secures ‘Country Roads Classic’ at Tyler County Speedway | News, Sports, Jobs

Tyler County Speedway would overcome a gloomy forecast and avoid raindrops all around to present another thrilling night of action. It was a premiere night at “Arena” as it would be Kyle Thomas becoming the first repeat winner in the Late Model division while Tyler Riggs, Daniel Muldrew, Rex Frohnapfel, Patrick Willbarger, Cody Wittekind and Mack Brookover all took the first wins of the season. Frequent winners Chad Smith and Cruz Thomas would also win trips to West Virginia University at Parkersburg Victory Lane.

The Steel Block Late Model series would make its 2nd appearance of the season at the “Arena”. A strong 13-car field would head for the high banks as a lightning-fast surface challenged everyone. Perennial winner Daniel Hill would jump ahead in the sharp-looking GRS1 machine with Riggs glued to his bumper. As the race entered the final stages, Tyler Riggs increased the pressure on Hill and as the pair accelerated into turn 2 on the white flag lap, Riggs pulled along the side and dragged Hill in the back to move forward and pick up the feature win. After the New Matamoras, Ohio’s runner in the payment window was Hill, Zach Milbee, Matt Melvin and Corey Delancey.

Pennsboro, WV’s Kyle Thomas would become the first repeat winner of the Stutler Motorsports Super Late Model main event. A field of light would blast the speedway cushion for 20 fast laps with Thomas collecting the checkerboard on Shawn Jett, Chuck Kimble, Steve Weigle and Derek Doll.

Current point leader Chad Smith of Sardis, Ohio would earn his 3rd victory of the season in the Jenkins Auto Parts UMP Modified division presented by J&R Excavating. Smith would lead Litman Excavating/Dennis Miller Garage Doors/Windows/Quinet’s Court Restaurant/PMSI Longhorn Chassis to West Virginia University Parkersburg Victory Lane ahead of Danny Thomas, Jeff Fornash, Kurt Rogers and Doug Carson.

It was Wheeling, Daniel Muldrew of WV riding his 21m rocket to victory in the Sigler Fabrication EDGE Hotmod division. The win was Muldrew’s first of the season and he would edge out Kevin Dotson, Zack Robinson, Allen Clark with Steve Magyar rounding out the top five.

On his season maiden trip, St. Clairsville, Ohio, Rex Frohnapfel would claim victory at the Middlebourne Galaxy Food Center Sportmod headline event. A very eventful main event that would see early leader Tyler Spencer run into trouble with point leader Steven Dotson, transferring the point to a timely Frohnapfel. Once in the lead, Hatthorn Race Engines/R&D Trucking/KMJ Graphix/Next Level Designs Shaw Chassis driver would take the ladies ahead of Sonny Leek, Toby Wilson, Josalyn Hibbard and Brandon Lewis.

A terrific Dual Threat Sports Cards SCDRA 4 Cylinder feature would see Ravenswood, WV’s Patrick Willbarger pick up his first win of the season at Tyler County Speedway. A great two-man race with Willbarger on point challenged by Jacob McDaniel’s 22 for the duration of the races as McDaniel would throw the kitchen sink at Willbarger but the c19 driver wouldn’t flinch and race smoothly to claim the hard earned victory. After Willbarger and McDaniel on the other side of the line, Mason Wolfe, Timothy Harlan and Mike Tennant.

In the Mini Wedge class, it was Cruz Thomas who again parked it in Victory Lane at West Virginia University in Parkersburg ahead of Bryar Glover and Owen Sobota in the junior division. In the senior category, Mack Brookover won his first victory of the season at Tyler County ahead of Erickson Smith and Leah Brightwell.

Be sure to join us next Saturday night, July 23, for the 20th Annual Eaton/Childers King of the Ring featuring the $3,000 up for grabs RUSH Late Model Touring Series. See some of the region’s best RUSH Late Model racers go head-to-head in the prestigious Eaton/Childers King of the Ring.

Tyler County Speedway Feature Results for Saturday Night July 16

Tour of the latest steel block model “Country Road Classic” Feature: Tyler Riggs, Daniel Hill, Zach Milbee, Matt Melvin, Corey Delancey, Chris Williams, Ryan Payne, Mike Sprouse, Dustin Sprouse, Russ Frohnapfel, Steve Sabo, Trey Watson

Stutler Motorsports Super Late Model Feature: Kyle Thomas, Shawn Jett, Chuck Kimble, Steve Weigle, Derek Doll, Tyler Riggs, Brian Baumberger

Jenkins Auto Parts Modified UMP Feature Shown By J&R Excavating: Chad Smith, Danny Thomas, Jeff Fornash, Kurt Rogers, Doug Carson, Andy Taylor, Mitch Ward, JJ Bametzreider, Ryan Jones, James Schnegg, Travis Thomas, Brian Clegg, DNS Kendall hodge

Sigler Manufacturing EDGE Hotmod Feature: Daniel Muldrew, Kevin Dotson, Zack Robinson, Allen Clark, Steve Magyar, Brian Probst, Josh Sigler, Jeff Gorrell, JJ Arnold, Crash Craddock, Tim Spencer, Eddie Probst, Natalie Hibbard, Carson Thomas, Tripp Perine , Jason Todd, Michael Thomas, DNS Casey Richards

Middlebourne Galaxy Food Center Sportmod Feature: Rex Frohnapfel, Sonny Leek, Toby Wilson, Josalyn Hibbard, Brandon Lewis, Nic Green, Randy Bise, Jimbo Wheeler, Andy Green, Levi Nolan, Al Smith, Matt Yost, Brad Lucas, Tyler Spencer, Steven Dotson, Russell Murphy, DNS Tyler Headley

SCDRA 4 Cylinder Dual Threat Sports Card: Patrick Willbarger, Jacob McDaniel, Mason Wolfe, Timothy Harlan, Mike Tennant, Adam Miller, Eric Tidd, Bill Doll, Mike Todd, Mitch Eddy, Ryan Spencer

MERICA Enduro Race: Corey Wittekind

Junior Wedge Feature: Cruz Thomas, Bryar Glover, Owen Sobota, Eli Smith, Kyndi Glover, Kameron Zegarsky, Rowen Brightwell, Remi Demoss, Bentley Thomas Trophy Sponsor: Jamie and Christina Chapman

Senior Mini Wedge Feature: Mack Brookover, Erickson Smith, Leah Brightwell, Keith Powell, Bryson Roberts, Peyton Baker, Kaden Sexton, Wyatt Demoss Trophy Sponsor: Jamie and Christina Chapman