Stanford Men’s Gymnastics Wins Third Consecutive NCAA Championship

NORMAND, OKLA. – 1 Stanford won his third consecutive NCAA championship on Saturday night, putting the finishing touches to one of the most dominant seasons in school history.

Stanford overwhelmed the six-team field, totaling 423.628 while producing individual NCAA champions in four different events. Oklahoma (414.555) and Michigan (414.490) followed in second and third place respectively. Nebraska placed fourth with 406.453, followed by Ohio State (399.326) and Illinois (398.523).

The Cardinal won its eighth NCAA title in program history, becoming the first triple-round school since Oklahoma’s four-year stretch from 2015-2018. Stanford also won NCAA crowns in 2011, 2009, 1995 , 1993 and 1992.

Showcasing a combination of superior roster depth and dynamic routines, Stanford led wire to wire, starting with a 73.432 on the jump through the first spin. Even when Michigan closed in halfway, Stanford hit a season-best 72.433 rushing to extend their lead and never looked back.

Brody Malone, who led all competitors on the horizontal bar (14.700), highlighted individual NCAA champions Stanford. Malone becomes a six-time national champion, having also won the horizontal bar event title in 2019 and 2021.

Curran Phillips (15.233) on parallel bars, Riley Loos (14.600) on rings and Bryan Perla (14.800) on floor also won event titles.

More details to follow.

• Stanford varsity teams have won 129 NCAA championships (69 men’s, 60 women’s) and 156 overall.
• Stanford has won at least one NCAA team championship in each of the last 46 seasons since the 1976-77 campaign.
• Of Stanford’s 129 NCAA championships, 35 have been won by fall sports, 31 by winter sports and 63 by spring sports.
• Since 2000, Stanford has won 53 NCAA crowns.
• Stanford’s eight NCAA championships in men’s gymnastics are tied with Nebraska for fourth all-time, behind Oklahoma (12), Penn State (12) and Illinois (10).
• Men’s gymnastics is the first Cardinal program to win three straight NCAA titles since women’s swimming and diving achieved a three-peat from 2017-19.
• Head coach Thom Glielmi has guided the Cardinal to five NCAA titles, who ranks third among active Stanford head coaches and trails only Lele Forood of women’s tennis (10) and John Tanner of water polo feminine (7).