Rosy Meena Paulraj breaks her own national pole vault record

Rose Meena Paulraj of Tamil Nadu has broken the women’s national pole vault record for the second time in a fortnight, this time clearing 4.21m during the 61st National Athletics Championships at Sree Kanteerava Stadium.

At the Gandhinagar National Games, Rose Meena erased the VS Surekha record (4.15m) with a mark of 4:20. On Saturday, she first jumped from a height of 4.10m to clinch the gold medal, relegating the Railways duo of Pavithra Venkatesh and Baranica Elangovan to second and third place.



The 25-year-old then hit 4.16m to rewrite Surekha’s competition record (4.15m) set in 2014, before bettering her own mark from two weeks ago.

“The last time I came here for Khelo India, I didn’t do well. So I was determined to give a good performance,” said Rose Meena. “I am not completely satisfied with 4.21m. The goal is to reach 4.30m, the Asian Games standard. This is what I will be working towards. »

The competition started in the scorching afternoon sun, but Bengaluru’s notoriously temperamental weather meant that dark rain clouds soon replaced the blue and white patches and a cool wind started. to blow on the stadium.

Rose Meena struggled with her momentum the whole time and even had to use layers of Amrutanjan Pain Relief Balm to keep herself warm. But spurred on by a sparse but enthusiastic crowd and the quiet support of her coach with the fascinating name Milber Bertrand Russell – named after the great British mathematician and philosopher – Rose Meena cleared 4.21m on her first try.

She then had three failed bids at 4.25m, but that was icing on the cake she didn’t quite need. Her stock has risen so much in the past 15 days that the Tamil Nadu government – according to Milber – is scrambling to retain her, even as she seemed set to move to the railways for secure employment.

Elsewhere, Jyothi Yarraji, the National Games 100m champion did not finish her race, opting to focus on the 100m hurdles, her favorite event. Amlan Borgohain, the men’s 100m champion, reportedly withdrew on the eve of the competition.

The results:

Men: 20km Walk: 1. Suraj Panwar (Utk) 1:25:23s, 2. Akshdeep Singh (Pun) 1:25:26, 3. Paramjeet Singh Bisht (Ser) 1:25:26.

Women: Pole Vault: 1. Rosy Meena Paulraj (TN) 4.21m (NMR; GOLD: 4.15m, VS Surekha, 2014), 2. Pavithra Venkatesh (Rly) 4.00m, 3. Baranica Elangovan (Rly) 4.00m; Disc: 1. Paramjot Kaur (Rly) 50.81, 2. Nidhi Rani (Rly) 50.29, 3. Neetika Verma (UP), 49.70; 20km walk: 1. Ravina (Rly), 1:34:55s (NMR; OR: 1:38:30, Bhawana Jat, 2019), 2. Vandana (Kar) 1:37:19, 3. Munita Prajapati (HIGH ) 1:37:49.