Bhastekar wins in the pole vault, Taylor Wooo Pig Classic’s 600m fast

FAYETTEVILLE – Razorback Etamar Bhastekar won the pole vault with a clearance of 17ft 0.75in and Kieran Taylor was second in 1 minute 16.86 seconds over 600m to highlight Arkansas’ performances in the Wooo Pig Classic held at the Randal Tyson Track Center.

“We’ve never had an early encounter like this, but I think we had a good performance,” said Razorback associate head coach Doug Case. “For this time of the season Etamar’s jump was very good. Ayden Owens had some strong competition, clocking 1:19 in 600 and a jump of 15-5.

“Today’s star was Kieran Taylor in the 600 with a time of 1: 16.86 which is a great time. It is the fastest time in the history of the school and it is one of the best times ever achieved in college.

Taylor’s effort is fastest by a Razorback in the event at the Tyson Center, improving the 1: 18.34 set by Hunter Woodhall in 2019. On the collegiate all-time list, Taylor would be ranked No. interpreter with the 27e fastest performance ever. In comparison, former Arkansas Roddie Hayley ran 1: 08.26 for 600 yards as a college kid in 1987.

“Honestly, it was awesome,” Taylor said. “The guys up front came out strong. I felt that a bit. I wanted to get out in 24 seconds, which I did (24.81). I haven’t had any complaints really. We raced even earlier than when we normally have a time trial. So this is even more important factor.

“The goal every year is to get 1:17 or 1:16 in a time trial, so it’s kinda crazy that I did that. Saw all these great guys go through 1:16. It’s a good time, so no complaints.

The top four in the race improved the 2016 installations record of 1: 18.03 set by Charles Jones of Texas Tech. The winning 1: 15.49 effort of Brandon Miller of Texas A&M, the NCAA first-year 800m outdoor silver medalist last spring, broke the U20 world records (1: 15.60) and US U20 (1: 16.92).

In third place in 1: 16.92 was Moitel Mpoke of Texas A&M while Cebastian Gentil of Iowa State was fourth in 1: 17.93.

Mpoke led the field at 200m in 24.03 with Miller a step back in 24.11. At 400m Miller held the advantage with a 49.06 split time while Mpoke crossed in 49.60 and Taylor was 50.12 with a lap of 25.31 seconds. Miller then finished with a final round of 26.74 behind Miller’s 26.43 and Mpoke’s 27.32 header.

Other Razorbacks in the race included Brandon Battle, placing fifth in the quick heat, with a time of 1: 18.48. Jadon Bartholomew won another section in 1:18:64 to place sixth overall. Arkansas multi-event Ayden Owens won his section clocking 1: 19.18 to place eighth overall.

Only one other outfielder remained in the competition when Bhasketar came in at 16-0 3/4 (4.90). He cleared 17-0 3/4 (5.20) on his second attempt for the win, defeating Texas A&M’s Caleb Murdock by a full foot. Bhastekar missed at 17-4 1/2 (5.30).

Rhett Nelson jumped 15-9 (4.80) to place fourth while Owens stopped at 15-5 (4.70) finishing fifth before running the 600m.

Gilbert Boit was second in the 5,000m clocking 13: 43.24, behind Scott Beattie of Tulsa’s winning time of 13: 40.42. Three Razorbacks in the race included Andrew Kibet in sixth place with a first time of 13: 51.31 ahead of Emmanuel Cheboson in 13: 53.14 in seventh place. Myles Richter was 11e with a 14: 42.41.

In the shot put, former Arkansas Erich Sullins broke the competition record with a career best throw of 74-7 3/4 (22.75) to claim the victory. Razorback Ruben Banks was third at 62-0 1/4 (18.90) while Ben Ryer was fourth at 52-6 3/4 (15.34).

John Baker reached a distance of 48-1 1/4 (14.66) as the finalist in the triple jump while Link Lindsey was fifth at 46-0 1/2 (14.03).

Jeremy Farr clocked a 33.57 for third place in the 300m. In the 60m hurdles, the tandem of Brevin Sims (8.19) and Shaka Bogan (8.28) placed third and fourth. Roman Turner ran 6.82 over 60m to place fifth in the final heat and eighth overall.

Running in the 3,000m, Josh Shearer was third in 8: 26.87 while Sam Hall was fourth in 8: 32.44. Ellias Schreml clocked a time of 2: 25.22 as a finalist in his 1000m section and placed eighth overall.

Source link